FREE!Sign Up Log In Download

Join Glucose Buddy Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-06-2010, 03:03 PM

Default After exercise--when should I test my blood sugar?

Good morning,

I just got back from a 4 mile bike ride and my Blood sugar level spiked. from 150 to 181. The spike included breakfast. I tested my Blood Sugar Levels about 15 minutes after the end of the bike ride. I know this is a newbie question, but I am a newbie. Thanks for your help.

Bryan
Old 06-06-2010, 06:33 PM

is this concept for type 1 only or do you feel it is the same for type 2?
Old 07-07-2010, 06:21 AM

Have a look at this site it might help
http://www.runsweet.com/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=2
Old 11-01-2010, 05:10 AM

I find the same when I exercise, though I peak a later sometimes an hour or two, (in australian terms from about 6.0 (100ish) before exercising, to about 14 (~250) or more. If an evening exercise session, I have normal dinner, normal insulin, and it comes down all by itself overnight to below 6.0 again in the morning - even sometimes a hypo. My Doc says its normal too, but I still feel the high sugar!

I am experimenting with jabbing a very small dose before exercise (like 1 unit) with a few jelly beans - me thinks it may ease or stop the body having an 'energy crisis' on/during exercise, and prevent/reduce the spike from gluconeogenesis?
Old 01-22-2011, 05:41 PM