FREE!Sign Up Log In Download

Join Glucose Buddy Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-05-2013, 12:38 PM

Default New and having a hard time

Hi,
I'm 43 years old, I'm 5'0'' and I weigh 100lbs. I exercise rigorously 6 days a week (I run marathons), I've been eating a paleo diet for the past three years (no grain, no processed food, no sugar) and I just did a random fasting glucose yesterday for my yearly physical exam and I am diabetic. Crap.

Seriously? If anyone else tells me I need to exercise more, watch my diet and loose weight then I wouldn't have diabetes--I swear I'm going to shoot them. I'm at a loss about how to cope with this. I know I'll push through and find my way, but right now I'm having a pity party and you all are invited. In fact, only diabetics are invited because I can't do anything else but laugh or cry right now and it seems like only diabetics understand what I'm going through. Oh the irony of my profession, my hobbies and how I care for my body--and what life actually dishes out is just a joke. The only thing I feel like I can do today is laugh. Go to work, try and treat other people's health problems, and frickin' laugh. Wish me luck.
Physician, heal thyself...
Trish
Old 10-05-2013, 01:28 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome to the Forum!

Read through the first three threads in the Type 2 Section, when you get a chance, if you have not already done so. These threads will most-likely help you a lot. Self education is one of the keys to successful management of your diabetes, along with a healthy / sensible diet and exercise. Basically, diabetes requires a life-style change for the better. Good luck with your control and management.

Danny
Old 10-20-2013, 07:29 AM