FREE!Sign Up Log In Download

Join Glucose Buddy Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-30-2016, 05:27 PM

Default numb toes

I was recently diagnosed with type 2. Went to doctor when toes felt numb. Was not exercising and eating crap. Now eating low carbs and walking every day. It's only been 2 weeks and toes are the same. Are my numb toes reversible?
Old 10-30-2016, 11:28 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome to the Forum!

I can't answer your question, as I have no personal experience. Take a look and do some research on Diabetic Neuropathy.

Read through the first three threads in the Type 2 Section, when you get a chance, if you have not already done so. These threads will most-likely help you a lot. Self education is one of the keys to successful management of your diabetes, along with a healthy / sensible diet and exercise. Basically, diabetes requires a life-style change for the better. Good luck with your control and management.

Danny
Old 01-08-2017, 05:22 PM

I originally was diagnosed with an A1c of 11.7 on 7/14/2015 and got down to 5.8 on 10/23/2015 with the help of Metformin and starting walking and watching my diet. I had been wearing socks at night because my feet got cold etc and I think I did have the nerve damage warning signs.

I have maintained my A1c of 5.8 and have been off all meds since last July 2016. I try to walk at least an extra 2 miles a day, but will occasionally do more. I added a little bit of bicycling in last summer. I ended up having walked an extra 990 miles last year. (Something I had to work up to.)

Now to answer your question. I am still wearing socks at night time but I think things have improved. My research on the internet kind of indicated that it wouldn't but for me I think it has.

Good Luck

(Forgot to add that most likely the best thing I did was to give up soda and sugary drinks. I did this by telling myself we would do it for a month. Once the month rolled by we just kept going with it. )