FREE!Sign Up Log In Download

Join Glucose Buddy Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-20-2011, 07:25 AM

Default type 1 for almost 21 years

I'm 22 and I got diagnosed when I was about a year and some months. To make the story short, I've become more " free" ever since I started using the pump; but that's no help. I've been using the pump for almost 3 years now and at first everything was pretty colors. Now, my a1c is almost 10, I guess I've been spoiling myself and pretending I don't have Diabetes. I need help, how can I get on the ball again? I'm so scared cause I'm planning on getting married and I know being a girl with diabetes it's real hard to get pregnant or even give birth. So, if anyone has any comments or ideas please help me out to get back on track
Old 01-20-2011, 04:54 PM

Default It's not easy but it's worth it.

I have been a type 1 diabetic for 24 years and on the pump for 3.5 years. I was diagnosed right after my 18th birthday when I found out I was pregnant. I was 5'3 and 95 lbs. I had 4+ sugar in my urine. My blood glucose level was 880 and my A1C was 14.5. My father and his sister were both diagnosed with type 1 in their teens as well. Pregnancy is VERY difficult. I was hospitalized 4 times and they couldn't even get my blood sugars under control. My kidneys were shutting down and they scheduled my delivery. My first child was born by c-section 6 wks premature and 9lbs 8ozs. He had an enlarged heart, ventricular septal defect, and patent ductus arteriosis. He was on heart meds for 4 years and then he was discharged from cardiology. He is 23 and doing well. I lost my second pregnancy and the Dr. wanted me to tie my tubes at 19 yrs old. I refused so my second child was 10lbs 10ozs and healthy and my 3rd was 9lbs 13ozs and healthy.

Things were more difficult back then because there were no computers to look everything up.