FREE!Sign Up Log In Download

Join Glucose Buddy Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-05-2013, 03:02 PM

Smile Hello

Hello everyon,

I am new to the Glucose Buddy site and I am liking it so far.

I've been a type 2 diabetic for over 6 years. I also have high cholestorol and high blood preasure. However I really have not been following the rules and not taken my meds as I should.

I decided to dust of the OneTouch machine to check on my blood levels and i was shocked and scared to see my reading to nearing the 300's. I thought to myself, "My God...im a walking heart attack" I began to think of my kids growing up without a father.

I began to work out and saw my levels go down and get them under 200, average so far has been in the 140's or so. Good but not good enough.

My brother got me this book from Joel Fuhrman, MD "The END of DIABETES"
I find some of the stories of other folks to be off meds and living diabetes free, but by following the Dr's nutrient diet.

My question to all of you, is there a way to be diabetes and meds free?

Regards,
EMELEC
Old 02-05-2013, 04:06 PM

Hi there - welcome! Glucose Buddy is a really great user friendly tool for tracking your blood sugars, meds and carbs and seeing trends. I have had T1 diabetes for 14 years and consider myself very healthy - 5'2", 113lbs, eat a mostly plant based diet and love endurance sports.

With the T2 diabetes and comorbidities you have (hypertension and hyperlipidemia), I would guess that these diagnoses are all related to a higher BMI and overall lifestyle choices? Sounds like you're off to a GREAT start with the exercise and dietary changes. Please be patient - changes may be slow, but they are guaranteed with diet and exercise.